

# 11th Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region (CPAR)

Whitehorse, Yukon September 9 -11, 2014

**PROGRAM** 

Draft as of February 12, 2014

## MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 8, 2014

#### **WHITEHORSE**

09:00 - 13:00

Arrival of participants

Erik Nielsen Whitehorse International Airport

Transportation via shuttle to the hotel Westmark Whitehorse 201 Wood Street, Whitehorse

Private Program

## TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 9, 2014

All meetings will be held at the Kwanlin Dun Cultural Centre

Registration

10:00 - 11:00	Meeting of the Standing Committee (SCPAR)  Meeting Room TBC
11:00 - 12:00	Meeting of the Standing Committee and CPAR Observers  Meeting Room TBC
12:00 - 13:00	Luncheon at leisure
13:00 - 14:30	<ul> <li>Official Opening Session         <ul> <li>Co-Chairs: Ms. Sara Olsvig, Chair of SCPAR</li></ul></li></ul>
	Reports on activities followed by an exchange of views
14:30 - 14:45	Health Break



Moderators (2): TBD Panelists (2): TBD Rapporteur (1): TBD

17:00 Meeting of the Drafting Committee

Meeting Room TBC

18:30 Welcome Reception and Buffet Dinner

Kwanlin Dun Cultural Centre

#### WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 10, 2014

08:00 - 09:00	Meeting of the Drafting Committee  Meeting Room TBC
09:00 - 10:30	Session 2: Governance Models and Decision-Making Processes Moderators (2): TBD Panelists (2): TBD Rapporteur (1): TBD
10:30 - 10:45	Health Break
10:45 - 12:30	Session 3: Enhancing Northern Economies: Responsible Resource Development and Capacity Building Moderators (2): TBD Panelists (2): TBD Rapporteur (1): TBD
12:30 - 14:30	Working Luncheon of the Drafting Committee
12:30 - 14:30	Luncheon at leisure (for rest of participants)
14:30 - 16:00	Session 4: Environmental Challenges Moderators (2): TBD Panelists (2): TBD Rapporteur (1): TBD
16:00 - 16:15	Health Break

Possible presentation by the Yukon College: Centre for Northern Innovation in Mining (CNIM) Local representatives, presenters, speakers to be invited / included in program

16:15 - 17:00

Adoption of the Conference Statement Announcement for the 12<sup>th</sup> Conference in 2015

Closing of the Conference

Co-Chairs: Ms. Sara Olsvig, Chair of SCPAR

Mr. David Tilson, M.P., Chair of the Canada-Europe

Parliamentary Association

17:00 - 18:00 Meeting of the Standing Committee (SCPAR)

19:00 - 20:30 Reception

**Venue TBC** 

## THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 11, 2014

10:15	Assemble in the hotel lobby
10:30	Departure by coach for Kluane National Park
13:00	Lunch followed by Interactive Session   Tour of Kluane National Park
15:00	Departure by coach for Haines Junction
15:30	Arrival at Da Kų Cultural Centre
	Interactive Session   Tour of Da Ku Cultural Centre
16:30	Departure for the hotel
18:30	Arrival at the hotel Westmark Whitehorse 201 Wood Street, Whitehorse

# FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 12, 2014

Departure of delegates