Eighth Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region

Fairbanks, Alaska, August 12-14, 2008

Most documents from the Eighth Conference are available as PDF files. Download the free Acrobat Reader program to view them if necessary.

Conference Agenda:

Tuesday 12 August

Opening of the Conference & Welcome Speeches

  • Senator Lisa Murkowski, US member of SCPAR (recording)
  • Mark Hamilton, President, University of Alaska
  • Patricia Cochran, Chair, Inuit Circumpolar Council
  • Sarah Palin, Governor, State of Alaska

THEME 1: Human Health in the Arctic Region

 Special Reports on Arctic Marine Policy

Wednesday 13 August

Progress Reports from the Arctic Council and SCPAR

  • Report, Mr. Robert Kvile, Senior Arctic Official, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Norway (recording)
  • Report, Ms. Hill-Marta Solberg, Chair of the SCPAR (recording)

Recent Developments in US Arctic Policy

  • Report, Ms. Margaret F. Hayes, Director, Office of Oceans Affairs, U.S. Department of State (recording)

THEME 2: Adaptation to Climate Change

Thursday 14 August

THEME 3: Energy Resources in the Arctic - Development of Rural Energy Resources

Adoption of Conference Statement
Closing of the Conference

Monday 01 Sep 2008