News & Activities

Next meeting of SCPAR 12 March 2013
The next meeting of the Standing Committee will take place in Washington DC 12-13 March 2013. Senator Lisa Murkoski is the host of the meeting.
Tuesday 26 Feb 2013
Letter to the Arctic Council addressing observers to the Council
In a letter to the Arctic Council Chairmanship,the Chair of Standing Committee Mr. Morten Høglund is underlining the important role of SCPAR as an observer to the Arctic Council.
Tuesday 26 Feb 2013
Conference report from the 10th Conference of Arctic Parliamentarians
The Conference report from the 10th Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region 5-7 September 2012 is ready.
Tuesday 26 Feb 2013
New member of SCPAR from Iceland
Mr.Ólafur Þór Gunnarsson, member of the Icelandic parliament, is a new member of the Standinding Committee of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region.
Wednesday 06 Feb 2013
Ms. Sara Olsvig addressed "Arctic Frontiers" in Tromsø 22 January
Member of the Standing Committee Ms. Sara Olsvig addressed the big Arctic conference in Tromsø "Arctic Frontiers" today. Her intervention had the title "Geopolitics and the changing Arctic as homeland".
Tuesday 22 Jan 2013
Dinner with Minister Leona Aglukkaq
Morten Høglund had dinner with the incoming Chair of the Arctic Council Ms. Leona Aglukkaq in Oslo 19 January.
Tuesday 22 Jan 2013
Written statement to the Arctic environment ministers meeting 5-6 February 2013
SCPAR has contributed with a written statement to the meeting between the Arctic environment ministers.
Wednesday 16 Jan 2013
Next meeting of SCPAR 12-13 March 2013 in Washington DC
The next meeting of the Standing Committee will be in Washington DC 12-13 March 2013.
Thursday 13 Dec 2012
Letter from SCPAR on the suspension of RAIPON
SCPAR has sent a letter to RAIPON and the Russian delegation concerning the suspension of RAIPON asking for cooperation to find a solution.
Friday 23 Nov 2012
Reporting at Senior Arctic Official meeting in Haparanda 15 November 2012
The Secretary General of SCPAR Bjørn Willy Robstad informed the meeting of Senior Arctic Officials in Haparanda about the results from the conference in Akureyri 5-7 September 2012.
Friday 16 Nov 2012