News & Activities

Mr Eirik Sivertsen re-elected as Chair of the Standing Committee

Mr Eirik Sivertsen from Norway was re-elected as Chair of SCPAR, and Mr Larry Bagnell from Canada was re-elected as Vice-Chair.

After the closure of the Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region in Ulan-Ude 14-16 June 2016,  the Standing Committee met to elect a Chair and Vice-Chair of the Committee.

Mr Eirik Sivertsen                        Mr Larry Bagnell

Mr Sivertsen and Mr Bagnell were both seeking re-election and were elected as Chair and Vice-Chair until the next CPAR in 2018, and were elected unanimously.

At the conference in Ulan-Ude, Mr. Sivertsen reported about the work of the Standing Committee since the last conference in 2014. Read Mr Sivertsens' report here

The Conference Statement from the conference in Ulan-Ude can be found here

Monday 20 Jun 2016