News & Activities

Chair of SCPAR attends Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting

Mr Eirik Sivertsen will attend the Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting in Iqaluit, Canada 24 April 2015.

Mr Sivertsen and Mr Bevington

In advance of the meeting in Iqaluit Mr Sivertsen will meet with his Canadian colleagues in the Standing Committee in Ottawa,  Vice-Chair Mr Dennis Bevington and Mr Ryan Leef.

The Arctic parliamentary cooperation has proposed to have yearly Arctic Council Ministerial Meetings as the importance of the cooperation in the Council has grown significantly since its inception in 1996. The increased global attention towards the Arctic and the rapid changing environment demands closer and higher political attention.

To read more about Arctic governance see the report: "Arctic Governance in an Evolving Arctic Region"



Wednesday 22 Apr 2015