News & Activities

SCPAR at Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting

The Chair of the Standing Committee Mr. Morten Høglund participated at the Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting in Kiruna, Sweden 15 May 2013.

Mr. Høglund was very happy to see that observers status to the Arctic Council was given to new states.

- This decision secures the Arctic Council as the main arena for Arctic cooperation and make it easier for the new observers to contribute to the Arctic cooperation. This was a very important decision - says Mr. Høglund.

Mr. Høglund also welcomes the signing of the marine oil spill agreement signed by the Ministers as an important response to the increased marine activity in the Arctic. 

Senator Lisa Murkowski, member of SCPAR from the US, was a part of the US delegation to the meeting.

Thursday 16 May 2013